Texas State Parks on the Air – 2019

April 13 – 14th, 2019

Our next big family involved event is coming up in April.  We have signed up to activate Caprock Canyons State Park near Quitaque this year.  If you have not been to Caprock Canyons you are missing a real treat.

Here is a link to the TSPOTA rules.

TSPOTA Rules

In short, we plan to operate as a multi-operator, multi-transmitter, Single Texas Park Low power (150 watts or less).

More than anything else we want to plan and enjoy a weekend with our families and friends in a beautiful state park and get in some time operating radios. Here is the tentative schedule .

April 12, 2019 Friday

Travel and Setup Day – Travel to Caprock Canyon State Park on Friday evening, claim several adjacent camp sites and establish camp. Begin setup of operating stations.

April 13, 2019 Saturday

Travel for those unable to leave on Friday evening. Begin operating at 1400Zulu (0800CST). Operate until 0200Z (2000CST).

April 14, 2019 Sunday

Continue to operate begining at 1400Z (0800CST). Operations can continue until 0200Z (2000CST). Those needing to return home may break down camp and depart. Several are planning on spending Sunday night and returning home on Monday morning.

April 14, 2019 Monday

Break down and depart Caprock Canyon State Park.

You will need to provide: Your own camping gear and food. We may plan on a communal meal on Saturday evening. More information on this will be forth coming.

We encourage everyone who has a portable station to bring their equipment and antennas. The more the merrier. The club will bring band pass filters and other assorted equipment and supplies.

Above all, we want encourage everyone to come out and participate at least part of the time. Even if you just come down for Saturday afternoon and evening, it is important that we support this event and the Club.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *